That Good Thing is: Pure

IMG_0044

I’ve been on a purge lately. I’m talking about a social media, music, books, movies, pictures, and ex-boyfriend contact information type of purge. I’ve done this before. I’ve gotten rid of things that I know aren’t good for me, but this time felt different. This time felt different because I had the “whys” behind why I was getting rid of the unnecessary distractions in my life.

1 Why- There’s no need for me to continue any type of connection or communication (i.e. social media connections, text messages, phone calls, DMs, etc.) with an ex or someone I used to “talk to.”

2 Why- Some of the relationship books, blogs, movies, songs and social media images are either super perverted, degrading to both men and women, foolishness, contrary to God’s word or a combination of all.

Ex-Boyfriends & Acquaintances Purge

I’ve always found it odd when people seek to “let’s just be friends” after a breakup (Note: I am not referring to situations where children are involved, but boundaries are helpful). I’ve even uttered those silly words post-breakup. But why? Why do we seek to maintain those connections? I don’t see the value in keeping an ex floating around in the background as a distraction when I’m trying to get to the one that God has for me.

I’ve removed all traces of my exes or anyone that I was involved with. No social media connections (they may still follow me, but I’ve un-followed them), deleted contact information, deleted message threads, deleted pictures and videos, etc. I want my heart to be free and clear for the man who God has for me. I don’t want to be found by the man who will be my husband one day still tangled up in an ex that I won’t let go of.

Music, Movies, Books and Social Media Purge

We’re inundated nowadays with bad media. Song lyrics encourage excessive drinking, smoking, sex and violence. Relationship books and blogs promote compromise and manipulation. Social media images and videos praise lewd behavior. Movies and television shows champion sex, violence, sex, violence, more sex, more violence, degradation of men and women, sex, violence, and more degradation of men and women. I had to get rid of these things. They weren’t beneficial to my soul whatsoever.

“We are allowed to do anything, but not everything is good for us to do. We are allowed to do anything, but not all things help us grow strong as Christians.” 1 Corinthians 10:2, NLV

I am called to purity. Purity is already a struggle, especially when I haven’t practiced purity all of my life. It doesn’t benefit me to bombard my spirit with suggestive lyrics; lyrics that promote sex before marriage, sex with multiple partners, sex with strangers and sex with other women.  I’ve personally felt the divide between God’s Word and what the world says about sex. And you know what? When I fed myself with the nasty lyrics and starved myself of the Word, I followed what the lyrics said. But when I constantly fed myself the Word of God and starved myself of  the nasty lyrics, I followed what the Word said.  As much as I love relationship books and blogs, I had to get rid of them.  The majority of the books I owned were the opposite of what Jesus Christ teaches us about relationships. My previous choice in books encouraged sex outside of marriage and promoted the world’s way of handling relationship issues. Back then I believed it was innocent, but once I went back to my roots, the Word, I viewed what I was watching, listening to and reading differently. I will say this: once you read God’s Word for yourself and allow it to penetrate, you will view everything in the world differently.

I encourage you to take a look at your music selections and collections. Take inventory of your books, movies and social media connections. Google the lyrics, artists, authors, and actors/actresses behind the media. I know you like that beat, but really listen to what the person is saying because your subconscious is taking it all in. You’ll be surprised.

“…For out of the heart proceed evil thoughts, murders, adulteries, fornication, thefts, false witness, blasphemies…” Matthew 15:18-20, NKJV

I had to find out for myself what these artists were singing/rapping. I used to think, “oh, it’s not a big deal. I’m grown; I know the difference.” Explicit/suggestive lyrics and suggestive television/movie scenes may seem small or insignificant, but I promise you they’re not. The things I was listening to, watching and reading prevented me from hearing God. Why? Because everything I was listening to, watching and reading was contrary to God’s Word. Everything I was listening to, watching and reading was drowning out what little bit of Word of God I had in my heart.

It wasn’t worth it.

“A good man out of the good treasure of his heart brings forth good; and an evil man out of the evil treasure of his heart brings forth evil. For out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks.” Luke 6:45, NKJV

 

Leave a Reply

